Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point

The cook chill casings used in our PanSaver® Cook Chill program assist in HACCP compliance.

A HACCP plan is based on the seven principal steps outlined by the National Advisory Committee on Microbiological Criteria for Foods (www.fda.gov/Food/GuidanceRegulation/HACCP/ucm2006801.htm). These seven critical steps describe how to create a HACCP plan. Each step builds on the information gained from the previous one, so you must incorporate every step in order to develop your plan.

The Seven HACCP Principal Steps:

  1. Conduct a hazard analysis.
  2. Determine critical control points (CCPs).
  3. Establish critical limits.
  4. Establish monitoring procedures.
  5. Identify corrective actions.
  6. Verify that the system works.
  7. Establish procedures for record keeping and documentation.

Generally speaking, the first two steps help you identify and evaluate your hazards. Steps three, four, and five help you establish ways to control those hazards. Steps six and seven help you maintain the HACCP plan and verify its effectiveness.